You are here

History of The International Booker Prize

The Booker Prizes exist to reward the finest in fiction, highlighting great books to readers. The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The symmetrical relationship between the Booker Prize and the International Booker Prize ensures that the ‘Booker’ honours fiction on a global basis.

The International Booker Prize aims to encourage more reading of quality fiction from all over the world. The vital work of translators is celebrated, with the £50,000 prize money divided equally between the author and translator. Each shortlisted author and translator also receives £1,000. Both novels and collections of short stories are eligible.

The International Booker Prize (previously The Man Booker International Prize) was established in 2005.

On 28 February 2019 the Trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation announced that Crankstart would be the new supporter of the prizes.