You are here

The Booker Prize

The leading literary award in the English speaking world, which has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over 50 years. Awarded annually to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The International Booker Prize

Awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The vital work of translators is celebrated, with the prize money divided equally between the author and translator.

Welcome to The Booker Prizes

Welcome to the home of The Booker Prize for Fiction and The International Booker Prize, with exclusive news, interviews and articles.

The Booker Prizes reward the finest in fiction, highlighting great books to readers and transforming authors’ careers. The symmetrical relationship between The Booker Prize for Fiction and The International Booker Prize ensures that they honour fiction and the best writing on a global basis. 

The prizes are supported by Crankstart, the charitable foundation of Sir Michael Moritz and his wife, Harriet Heyman.

Of their support for The Booker Prize Foundation and the prizes, Moritz commented, ‘Neither of us can imagine a day where we don’t spend time reading a book. The Booker Prizes are ways of spreading the word about the insights, discoveries, pleasures and joy that spring from great fiction.’

The new arrangement began on 1 June 2019, marking the conclusion of 18 years of successful and generous sponsorship by Man Group.

Ben Okri has written a poem for The Booker Prize to celebrate and mark the generosity of its years funded by the Man Group and the exciting transition to a new partnership with Crankstart. Read the poem.

We understand these are unprecedented and uncertain times but The Booker Prizes will continue to find and celebrate the finest fiction and translated fiction. Click here to read a message from the Booker Prize Foundation about COVID-19​.

You may also like:
The Golden Man Booker Prize

Vintage Man Booker